1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Indiana State High School Football Championships

Class A-5A Champs to Be Determined in This Weekend's Playoffs


The 37th annual Indiana High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) state football championship games will be played this Friday and Saturday, November 27 and 28, in Lucas Oil Stadium to determine who will be this year’s reigning high school football champions in all five classes. Two Indianapolis-area high schools will be featured in the Class 5A game: North suburbia’s Carmel High School will face off against the east-side’s Warren Central High School in what should be a dynamite game. Both schools’ football teams are powerhouses.

Warren Central’s Warriors hold the state record for winning the most consecutive state football championships (reigning in Class 5A in 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006). The Warriors also won the first 5A championship game played in 1985, after winning Class 4A in 1984.The Carmel Greyhounds have won six state championships, though only one has been in the last 20 years, in 2007. Prior to that the Greyhounds reigned in 1978, 1980, 1981, 1986, and 1989.

The Lineup

The Class A and 2A championship games will be played on Friday as follows:

  • Class A: Lafayette Central Catholic (14-0) vs. Fountain Central (14-0) at 3:30 p.m.

  • Class 2 A:Fort Wayne Bishop Luers (9-5) vs. Monrovia (14-0) at 7 p.m.

The Class 3A, 4A, and 5A games will be played on Saturday as follows:

  • Class 3A: West Lafayette (14-0) vs. Evansville Memorial (11-3) at noon

  • Class 4A: Lowell (13-1) vs. Evansville Reitz (14-0) at 3:30 p.m.

  • Class 5A: Carmel (13-1) vs. Warren Central (12-2) at 7:05 p.m.


Lucas Oil Stadium is located at 500 S. Capitol Ave., Indianapolis. Tickets can be purchased on game days at the ticket office on the southeast side of the stadium at street level. Tickets are $15 for one day or $25 for both days, and all seats are general admission. The stadium will open at 2:30 p.m. on Friday and at 11 a.m. on Saturday.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.